We operate on a hybrid schedule running from August to May.


We start accepting submissions to Blood Reign in August.  Selection process begins in September and payments are sent out via Paypal only !  We pay $25 for each short story to new writers so they are eligible to apply for the Associate Membership level to the Horror Writers Association.

Each year editors choose three to five short stories from the annual anthology to send to our awards committee that is made up of industry professionals.  Last year we had HWA Board Member/ Bram Stoker Award Nominee John Palisano and HWA Board Secretary/Bram Stoker Award Winner Joe McKinney.

Last year our winners were “Jenny” by Mijat Vujačić, “To Be Thirsty” by Melissa Stanziale, and “Canopic Servitude” by Essel Pratt.  An awards page will be set up with links to their Facebook or websites.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: